Daisy Lea Lane




United Kingdom


Village Cup (13 April)

The winner, for the third year running, was the Liberal Club with Alan Forrest beating LBC’s George Turton 21-8 in the final on our green. In the semi-final A Forrest beat LBC’s Lewis Turton 21-7 whilst G Turton accounted for LBC’s Nathan Hartley 21-6.
In the Subsidiary Competition LBC’s Carl Allen beat LC’s Pete Thornton 15-14
In the Ladies Competition LBC’s Janet Hayden beat LC’s Kath Mc Kenzie 15-13.

Derek Gee Mixed Pairs (5 May)

The Derek Gee Trophy (Mixed Pairs) was won by Sheila Thorp and Bill Blackburn, defeating Margaret Coulson and Mike Dawe in the final.

BBQ & Scramble (9 June)

This popular annual event saw 36 entries and many more supported

1st place Mike Dawe66 points
2nd place Ken Ellis58 points
3rd place David Thorpe49 points

Federation Match (23 June)

Hosting this regional match, comprising some of the top bowlers from the Colne Valley and Airedale, was a first for our club.

Yorkshire County (7 July)

For the first time in the club’s long history, a men’s county match was played on our green (the first Ladies one was held in 2018) in front of a very large crowd. Yorkshire defeated North Lancashire & Fylde by 226 points to 200 points, but surprisingly only winning 5 of the 12 matches after two weeks of practice on our green (it’s not just our members who find our green tricky). Ideal weather resulted in a bumper crowd which has enhanced the club’s reputation.

Steven Haigh, Yorkshire County Competition Secretary, gave the following feedback:
“I can personally say on behalf of Yorkshire, that the day ran smoothly effectively and efficiently from start to finish, if you can personally thank all the volunteers for their efforts, it greatly showed the enthusiasm they have for the club and the willingness they want it to succeed and move not only onwards but upwards also.
You certainly put yourself on the County map of bowling greens, all the comments I got from the opposition also was all of the condition of the green and the surroundings.”

Schools Cup (11 July)

This year Lindley Junior School won the cup for the first time, defeating Moorlands Primary, the winner for the previous two years, by a convincing margin. Cllr Burke, who funded the new sets of bowls and medals, once again making the presentations.

£2000 Competition (28 June – 26 July) Sponsored by Gardinia Windows

The 4 knockout rounds attracted 64 of the best bowlers from Yorkshire and Manchester, including for the first time, two lady bowlers.
In the final, a large crowd witnessed a superb exhibition of corner bowling at Lindley Bowling club when Graeme Wilson won their £2000 competition for the third year running. He beat Ian Booth 21-3 to take home the winners £600 prize. On his way to victory he beat Ben Gloag 21-11 before winning a tense game against county colleague Ashley Daykin 21-18. Booth had a 21-17 win against Mark Regan followed by a 21-14 success against Terry Brook.
Lorna Briggs, President, thanked John Allen for organising the competition and local company Gardinia Windows for their generous sponsorship.
An additional £125 was awarded to the competitor with the biggest break during the competition and this was shared by Wilson, Regan and Gary Siswick who all had runs of 15.

Member & Guest (25 August)

The Member and Guest competition was won by Nathan Hartley and his guest Dan Jowett who beat previous winners Mick Thornton and Alan Bamforth. The subsidiary competition was won by George Turton and Paul Senior.

Rose Bowl (1 September)

This year’s Rose Bowl was again won by George Turton, defeating Geoff Stott 15-10.
The Ladies Shield was won by Karen Stott who overcame Irene Haigh 15-11 in the final.

HDVBA KO Final (5 September)

Sponsored by Deborah & David Little, Travel Counsellors of Lindley

The final of the Huddersfield Vets’ team championship, sponsored by Deborah and David Little of Travel Counsellors on behalf of LBC, was between Lockwood Con A from Div. 1, who showed their pedigree to soundly defeat New Mill A from Div.2.

Champion of Champions (6 October)

Planned to be played on our green a late switch to Lindley Lib was required due to two of our bowlers making the final.
George Turton and Graham Sigsworth represented Lindley Bowling Club at this prestigious competition. The green was in fine condition, the intermittent rain making things tricky.

Graham won his first round match against junior Josh Thomas, playing corner to corner, before running up against last years’ winner Craig Gant who won 21-4.
George was down 3-17 to Jack Dyson before playing short across the centre of the green to pull back to all-but across in the first round. Alas he just fell short to the competitions eventual winner (Dyson beating Gilroy 21-15).
It is hoped that next year the final might be played at Lindley Bowling Club